Hancock County
                     Part of The TNGenWeb Project
Hancock County was formed in 1844 from Hawkins and Claiborne Counties.
    The County seat is Sneedville.
  Hancock County lies in East Tennessee, one of the state's three "grand divisions" and is bordered by
    Hancock County is a burned county so there are few early records for it available.

  What is available:
     Deeds- 1879
     Chancery Court Minutes- Aug.1870
     1850-1930 Hancock County Census
*There are a few Chancery Court cases that did survive the fires for years 1797-1930, very
Hancock County Courthouse,Photo submitted by Janet Zengel Messer
   The few records that are available for Hancock County can provide a little information about your ancestors.
    The first census (1850) for Hancock County is available and can help establish a time frame as to when your
    ancestors arrived in the county.
    Also remember to check the surrounding counties where your ancestors might have lived for deeds, wills and 
    marriage records.
  Click on the links below to go the resources that are available for Hancock County.
Index to Deeds - Years 1879-1894
Thanks for stopping by and please come again.
County Coordinator - Jane Colmenares
    If you have any data that you have transcribed, such as church minutes, deeds, court minutes,
    etc please consider donating it to this site so that other researchers might benefit.
     These pages are part of The TNGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
     If you would like to adopt one of TNGenWeb's orphaned counties please go the TNGenWeb Home Page.
     If you are interested in adopting a county in another state then visit the USGenWeb Home Page
     All information contained in this site has been generously donated and is owned by the submitter, it is for 
     personal use and is not to be used for profit.
    Copyright 2005 ~ present

               John D Drinnon & E?.L? Bray
                * Donated by Douglas Drinnon (grandson of John D. Drinnon
site search by freefind