My name is Jeff Kemp, and I am the coordinator for the Henry County TNGenWeb web site. This web site is part of a nationwide effort to get genealogical information online. For more information about the national project, go to the USGenWeb Project. For information about the Tennessee state project, go to the TNGenWeb Project. To visit the USGenWeb Archives for the state of here
Named for Patrick Henry, Henry County is located in Western Tennessee, one of the state's three Grand Divisions. It is bordered on the north by Calloway County, Kentucky; on the west by Weakley County; on the south by Carroll County; and on the east by Stewart and Benton Counties.

The western part of Tennessee was occupied by and belonged to the Chickasaw Indians, who ceded it to Tennessee in 1818. An act of the General Assembly of the state of Tennessee which was passed on November 7, 1821, created Henry county from the western part of Stewart county. In 1819, James B. House and Adam Rowe settled on the Obion River, then a part of Stewart County. They were the first of many to come. By 1830, the population of Henry County was 12,249.

A second act passed November 16, 1821, appointed Sterling Brewer, James Fentress, and Abram Maury as commissioners to locate and purchase at least 50 acres for the county seat. The court of pleas and quarter sessions were to be held on the first Mondays of December, March, June, and September. Court was to be held at the house of Henry Wall until a courthouse was built.
Adjacent Counties! Volunteers Needed!    

Click to visit

Click to viit


This page was last updated You are the visitor since the counter was installed on August 22, 1998
 Last Updated: 09/22/2020 04:20 PM -0500
1998-Present -- Web site by Jeff Kemp