Just Where Is Williamson County Anyway?

Williamson County is located in middle Tennessee, one of the three grand divisions.

Bordered on the north by Davidson and Cheatham counties


Bordered on the west by Hickman and Dickson counties


Bordered on the east by Rutherford county

Bordered on the south by Maury and Marshall counties

Where Did Williamson County Come From?

Williamson County was created in 1799 from Davidson County, and celebrated its bicentennial is 1999.

Williamson County Hugh Williamson (1735-1819), surgeon-general of North Carolina troops in the American Revolution (1779-1782), North Carolina legislator, member of the Continental Congress (1782-1785, 1787, and 1788), delegate to the convention which framed the Federal Constitution in 1787, a member of the State convention which adopted it in 1789, and elected as a Federalist to the First & Second U.S. Congresses (March 4, 1789-March 3, 1793).

County Coordinators
Noel Matthews
Darlene Anderson

State Coordinator:
Taneya Koonce

Asst. State Coordinator:
Jane Colmenares

Adopt a County


Cheatham | Davidson | Dickson
Hickman Marshall
Maury | Rutherford