Where did Williamson County come from?

Williamson County was created in 1799 from Davidson County and celebrated its bicentennial in 1999.

Williamson County was named in honor of Hugh Williamson (1735-1819), surgeon-general of North Carolina troops in the American Revolution (1779-1782), North Carolina legislator, member of the Continental Congress (1782-1785, 1787, and 1788), delegate to the convention which framed the Federal Constitution in 1787, a member of the State convention which adopted it in 1789, and elected as a Federalist to the First & Second U.S. Congresses (March 4, 1789-March 3, 1793).

These are a few maps that will help you determine the shape and
size of Williamson County and where in Tennessee the county is located.

Williamson County, Tennessee, is located in Middle Tennessee, just
south of Nashville and the county seat is Franklin.

The Williamson County Convention and Visitors Bureau is
for visitor information, special events, area accommodations, maps and much more!

Williamson County is bordered to the west by Dickson and Hickman counties,
to the north by Cheatham and Davidson counties, on the east by
Rutherford county and to the south by Maury and Marshall counties.

Click here to view the State of Tennessee main webpage.

This is a TNGenWeb map depicting where Williamson
County is located in the state of Tennessee.

Middle Tennessee is one of the three Grand Divisions
of Tennessee, comprising some 40 counties.

The Middle Tennessee Tourism web site will give you more details
about information that is available in this part of this great state.

County Coordinators
Noel Matthews
Darlene Anderson

Connect With Us
On Facebook

Adopt a County


Cheatham | Davidson | Dickson
Hickman | Marshall
Maury | Rutherford