Anderson County TN

Welcome to the Anderson County Tennessee GenWeb site.

Anderson County is located in East Tennessee, one of the states three “grand divisions”, and was formed in 1801, from parts of Knox and Grainger Counties. The county seat is Clinton.

New Information – Who’s who in Tennessee (1911) biography transcriptions

Other cities and communities include Andersonville, Batley, Beech Grove, Bethel, Black Oak, Block House Valley, Briceville, Brushy Valley, Claxton, Donovan, Dutch Valley, Elza, Farmer’s Hollow, Fraterville, Frost Bottom, Lake City, Laurel Grove, Marlow, Medford, New River, Norris, Norwood, Oak Ridge, Oliver Springs, Red Hill.

Norris Dam

Norris Dam

Anderson County is home to Norris Dam, the first dam for the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) project, and is also home to Oak Ridge, a city that was created to support the Manhattan Project of World War II.

All efforts have been made to post accurate information.   Please contact us if you find anything that needs to be corrected or added.

 This site is maintained by the Anderson County Historical Society